If You Want Her to Fall in Love with You, Compliment her Nose!

In 2006, 220,000 women got some type of surgical procedure for their nose.  The scientific term for a nose job, or a plastic surgical procedure on the nose, is called rhinoplasty.  Plastic surgery is a controversial subject in America.  With celebrities influencing young women, something like Ashley Simpson getting a nose job to retouch her nose gives off the message that, “it’s okay to not think you’re beautiful.”  It’s okay to change things about yourself if you don’t like them. This type of influence encourages women to not love things about themselves and get them to want to change everything about the way they look.  There’s a lot of physical aspects women tend to want to change about their body.  Things such as the perkiness of their breasts, the firmness of their midsection, and the inflammation of their tooshie. A woman’s nose is one of the top aspects on that list of things women want to change about themselves.  It’s unlikely that a woman will spend hours putting on their make up, choosing the right earrings, and putting on the right lipstick, only to say, “Wow, my nose is amazing!” It’s just not practical.  It’s weird to enjoy the feature of your nose especially after media, literature, and basically everyone throughout history has put so much emphasis on women’s eyes, smile, and breasts.

Eyes, lips, hair, stomach, breasts, and legs; all these are usually the main focus of what is beautiful.  There’s a suffocating obsession with makeup, lipstick, hair products, and shapeable bras that gets women into retail stores like Victoria Secret, Mac, and Sephora, to buy item brands like Revlon, Pink, Vidal Sassoon, and Britney’s Spear’s scented perfume, Circus.  These women come home spend hours on their makeup, surgically guide a brush across their nails, and go off to the city immediately before their hair has time to lose its maximum volume.  Then when a strange man you haven’t met approaches you through the corner of your peripheral vision, and he tells you ““You have beautiful eyes!”” as if he was reading some blatant scripture off some obscure Esquire magazine passage; you say to yourself, “”Thanks. . . I know!””

“However, what if he compliments your nose?”

Now you missed something, now didn’t you?  Women spend all their time revamping and decorating delicate intricate Van Gogh like paintings on their eyes, lips, and nails that they forget their nose.  There’s only so much a woman can do about her nose. Maybe implement a slight touch of some fluffy powder or something, however, it just isn’t that flexible.  It is practically the only bare feature specifically centered on a woman’s face which she cannot drastically change the appearance of.  So when a guy comes up and says, “”You have an absolutely beautiful nose!”” You’re baffled.  You become insanely belligerent.  You become intrigued and curious.  And maybe even in some drastic instances you fall apart and cry, because it is the one and only thing that’s still real about you. It’s the one thing you can’t hide.

We fall in love with the people who fall in love with our imperfections.

Our imperfections tend to be the things we can’t change or choose to not change about ourselves.  Our perfections are what everyone loves about us.  The fact that someone can acknowledge that you’re smart, funny, athletic, and down to Earth, doesn’t get you wedding bells and satin silk sheets as you lay her naked body under the night sky peering into her bedroom.  Those are obvious things everyone else notices. Those are the same things every guy tells her about, and practically the same things the rest of the population of men on Earth wishes he could comment about.  It just doesn’t get you far to make an instant observation.  If the world’s sexiest woman fell in love with all the men who noticed the first thing everyone else notices about her, than we’d all be married to that same girl.  (Which as of 2010’s Maxim’s Hottest Woman List states, that girl would be Katy Perry)

However, when you acknowledge the unlikely and more practically irritating and annoying features in a woman’s arsenal of things she recognizes as flaws, then you touch something else.  Something deep.  The way she snorts when she laughs, her sincere sophisticated tone that she uses when she talks down to people, the obvious dark gray mole riding the side of her nose.  These are all imperfections.  They are also her signature. They are the things that make her different from everyone else in the world.  When someone can acknowledge that and enjoy those unlikely features, then that girl you like will know that you can let her be who she really is.

That’s a relevant essential piece to the idea of love.  The fact that you can understand someone for who they are.

 

 

Read last relationship lesson:

The remedy for the too aggressive or too passive man

Facts from: http://www.articlesbase.com/health-articles/

In 2006, 220,000 women got some type of surgical procedure for their nose.  The scientific term for a nose job, or a plastic surgical procedure on their nose, is called rhinoplasty.  Plastic surgery is a controversial subject in America.  With celebrities influencing young women, something like Ashley Simpson getting a nose job to retouch her nose certainly gives the message that, “it’s okay to not think you’re beautiful.”  It’s okay to change things about yourself if you don’t like them.  This type of influence encourages women to not love things about themselves and want to change everything they look like.  There’s a lot of physical aspects women tend to want to change about their body.  Things such as the perkiness of their breasts, the firmness of their midsection, and the inflammation of their tooshie.  A woman’s nose is one of the top things on that list of things women want to change.  It’s unlikely that a woman will spend hours putting on their make up, choosing the right earrings, and putting on the right lipstick, only to say, “Wow, my nose is amazing!”  It’s just not practical.  It’s weird to enjoy the feature of your nose especially after media, literature, and basically everyone throughout history has put so much emphasis on women’s eyes, smile, and breasts.

Eyes, lips, hair, breasts, abdomen, legs; all these are usually the main focus of what is beautiful.  There’s a suffocating obsession with makeup, lipstick, shampoos, and shapeable bras that gets women into retail stores like Victoria Secret, Mac, and Sephora, to buy item brands like Revlon, Pink, Vidal Sassoon, and Britney’s Spear’s scented perfume, Circus.  These women come home spend hours on their makeup, surgically guide a brush across their nails, and go off to the city immediately before their hair has time to lose its maximum volume.  Then when a strange man you haven’t met approaches you through the corner of your peripheral vision, and he tells you “You have beautiful eyes,” as if he was reading some blatant scripture off some obscure Esquire magazine passage, you say to yourself, “”Thanks. . . I know!””

However, what if he compliments your nose?

Now you missed something, now didn’t you?  Women spend all their time revamping and decorate delicate intricate Van Gogh like paintings on their eyes, lips, and nails that they forget their nose.  There’s only so much a woman can do about her nose. (bold/ italics)    Maybe implement a slight touch of some fluffy powder or something, however, it just isn’t that flexible.  It is practically the only bare feature specifically centered on a woman’s face which she cannot drastically change the appearance of.  So when a guy comes up and says, “”You have an absolutely beautiful nose!””  You’re baffled.  You become insanely belligerent.  You become intrigued and curious.  And maybe even in some drastic instances you fall apart and cry, because it is the one and only thing that’s still real about you.  It’s the one thing you can’t hide.

We fall in love with the people who fall in love with our imperfections.

Our imperfections tend to be the things we can’t change or choose to not change about ourselves.  Our perfections are what everyone(italics) loves about us.  The fact that someone can acknowledge that you’re smart, funny, athletic, and down to Earth, doesn’t get you wedding bells and satin silk sheets as you lay her naked body under the night sky peering into her bedroom.  Those are obvious things everyone else notices. Those are the same things every guy tells her about, and practically the same things the rest of the population of men on Earth wishes he could tell her about.  It just doesn’t get you far to make an instant observation.  If women fell in love with all the men who noticed the first thing everyone else notices about her, than we’d all be married to that same girl.  (Which as of 2010’s Maxim’s Hottest Woman List states, that girl would be Katy Perry)

However, when you acknowledge the unlikely and more practically irritating and annoying features in a woman’s arsenal of things she recognizes as flaws, then you touch something else.  Something deep.  The way she snorts when she laughs, her sincere sophisticated tone that she uses when she talks down to people, the obvious dark gray mole riding the side of her nose.  These are all imperfections.  They are also her signature.  They are the things that make her different from everyone else in the world.  When someone can acknowledge that and enjoy those unlikely features, then that girl you like will know that you can let her be who she really is.

That’s a relevant essential piece to the idea of love.  The fact that you can understand someone for who they are.

Facts from:  http://www.articlesbase.com/health-articles/rhinoplasty-women-and-nose-jobs-346001.html

34 responses to “If You Want Her to Fall in Love with You, Compliment her Nose!

  1. The Quest For 50

    Great post. Not just useful for game; truly great advice to live by.

  2. I love everything about this post. I feel all warm and squishy now.

    (but for the record, I love my nose exactly as it was given to me TAKE THAT, PLASTIC SURGERY ADVANCING MEDIA. BOOSH!)

  3. Amen. This nose is staying on this face. Any other nose would just look ridiculous and probably wouldn’t hold up my glasses properly.

    So, fuck rhinoplasty. And Lasik, for that matter.

    • And Lasik? Okay, i guess we could fuck lasik too.

      Thanks Gillian, I’m pretty sure your glasses would work fine with any nose. Just use tape.

      • Well, as Dorothy Parker once wrote, “Boys don’t make passes at girls who wear glasses.”

        Now, I love Dorothy Parker and think she’s usually pretty spot-on about a lot of things, but she’s wrong on that one. Once you weed out the creepy “hot librarian” fetishists, there are plenty of suitable boys who will make passes at a girl who wears glasses.

        I’m not about to let a laser cut into my eye just to meet someone else’s definition of pretty.

      • That’s awesome Gillian, but there are obvious some of the hottest girls who wear glasses. It’s just sexy, not just a fetish.

  4. For the record, I love my nose. It’s a small button nose and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

    But I know that’s not the point. 😉 There’s something wonderful about being loved, just the way you are. There are things about me that totally do my own head in and yet he loves them. That’s pretty special.

    Beautiful post Jonathan 🙂

  5. Very well said. I feel like love happens in the opposite direction to how most people think. They think it’s as straightforward as, you go for the body, you stay for the mind. But I don’t really think that’s how it is. You may notice some superficial detail about the body that draws you to someone, but, if it weren’t for someone’s personality, you wouldn’t give a fuck how they look- there are tons of interesting-looking people. I don’t ever really like someone’s body all that much until I get to the point where I like her flaws.
    I liked reading your advice because it reminded me that some women are actually secure enough in their own bodies to take it as a compliment that a guy likes their flaws. I’ve known girls who are actually the opposite- they get pissed if you like something that they don’t also like, or that they don’t control.
    In the end, I guess being secure with yourself is being able to not only accept it but take it as a compliment when somebody likes something about you that you don’t like.

  6. I absolutely love you for posting this. I couldn’t have read it at a more opportune time – a nose job is something I’ve been desperately wishing to be able to get for as long as I can remember. I avoid having pictures taken and my first thought is usually GOD my nose is huge, surely everyone else must be thinking the same thing. You’re right – if someone actually complimented me on it, I’d be thrown into a loop of confusion and probably be rendered unable to respond. But I adore “We fall in love with people who fall in love with our imperfections”. It’s fantastic.

    • Yeah. If you got that nosejob, where would your mind be when someone tells you that your nose is beautiful. It’s not really your nose. It’s a tweaked and redesigned version of your nose, not the original. It’s like wearing a homemade earning that you didn’t make and taking credit for it when someone says it’s pretty, “Did you make it?” It’s not real. It’s just something someone else added.

      I don’t know if you noticed, or if you’re a part of extreme modesty, but your default picture is incredibly beautiful and you have an absolutely beautiful nose. Yeah, that sounds corney. You shouldn’t change anything about yourself. Your perfect just the way you are. Everyone’s perfect just the way they are. My names Jonathan and I’m the most positive person ever! haha But yeah, just stay the way you are.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  7. This is so remarkably true. I’ve had people compliment my nose and it made me feel so good, it’s the one thing I don’t really like about myself.

  8. the title really caught my attention 🙂
    very nice post

  9. I love this. I’m not really a fan of plastic surgery – ESPECIALLY on my face – but everyone has their own path and knows what they can and can’t deal with moving forward. I hate it when people speak in absolutes and say they’ll NEVER do something (like a nose job), but I sincerely hope I’m woman enough to accept my flaws for a long time to come.

    • I would hate to find out that after you get surgery your face doesn’t feel like real face anymore. In fact, what if it feels like a mask the whole time. What if they put a mask on you and there was a live worm crawling in between your face and the mask just moving about!!! What if!!! AHHH.

      yep.

  10. Damn. I love my nose. My orangutans, cellulite flabby ass, my scars, my slobby stomach, and the hair on my face:)

  11. so… true story. 5 p.m., getting off work at Metro Center in Nashville, at an unusually long stoplight, waiting to to left. The guy in the car next to me rolls down his window and begins gesturing to me frantically. The area about a mile from my office is known for some serious gang activity, so I look straight ahead, watching through my peripheral. He gets even more animated, so I start thinking, “There must be something glaringly wrong with my car. Or I hit a person and didn’t realize it.” So I roll down the window.

    “Can I help you?”
    “I just had to tell you. You have the cutest nose I’ve ever seen.”

    You should find that guy and start a club.

  12. i fully support this plan.

  13. I can’t tell you how annoyed I am that my two best features are my nose and my boobs. The two things that plastic surgery can make perfect. UNFAIR.

  14. I stayed with someone for a little bit longer than I should have because they thought my nose was something to behold.

    True advice.

  15. ha! 🙂 i totally have a friend I’m emailing this blog post to. Maybe I can prevent her from getting that nose job.

  16. Pingback: 9 Reasons Why You Should Meet The Girl Next To You | THE TITAN PROJECT

Leave a comment